Win7 Parental controls

In a previous post I mentioned that AT&T made some fair software for Parental Controls.

After installing Windows 7 on the computers in our home, I found a nice Parental Control Panel. It has you setup a Microsoft Passport account for each user you intend to add to the Parental Controls panel. Windows 7 then tracks the user through their control panel.

I have it running on my daughter’s machine and it’s very nice. Whenever she runs across a site that is blocked automatically by the software, she can simply click a button to request access to the site. I then get an email telling me to administer her account. I can go to our family’s site and administer which users can go to which sites. My daughter’s account will show all her requested sites and allow me to approve or deny them after a review.

It’s very easy to use and works in the background. It doesn’t seem to use many resources and controlling it from either my computer or one of the others is pretty simple. Check it out and feel free to leave a comment if you know of other solutions.

Leave a Reply

